Felicia Flute

Meet Felicia.

Felicia Flute

Felicia Flute

I’ve had Felicia, since I was in 9th grade.  I love her;  I’m 54 years old, and haven’t played her in 6 or 7 years.  I no longer have the breath.   But I just couldn’t let her go. I considered selling her.  That felt too much like selling a child, not done. I considered giving her away.  Nope, just could not do it. So, she sat in my closet.  And I moved several times, okay 4, if ya want to be picky, since I decided I needed to release her.  But still, she was with me, in her pretty light brown case, with the 70’s stickers on it. 20150514_071958She’s an Artley!  Real silver! She was MINE. Then, my niece started playing the flute.  Nice, maybe we can play a duet.  Ha ha ha ha.  (Barely even have the breath to laugh that hard!) Suddenly, her flute developed a problem.  She needed a replacement flute.  Sis asked if she could borrow Felicia. Sure, she can “borrow” her, understanding that I want her back! Ah-hem.  What happened to de-cluttering? A little voice whispered in my ear.  I brushed it off, refusing to even dignify that question with an answer. Now, my niece’s birthday is coming up;  and I have no present for her.  Except, she already has my flute, that she needs, and is using.  And that I haven’t even had out of the case in more than 4 years…… So, fine, she can keep the flute, I thought grudgingly.  After stewing on it a few days, I realized, she will get more use and pleasure out of it, than I ever will again. On her birthday, I called Kristen and told her that Felicia was her gift.  She was thrilled! And my Grinch heart grew 5 sizes.

12 thoughts on “Felicia Flute

  1. Pingback: Blissful Blessing | purpleslobinrecovery

  2. Pingback: Recovery, Two Ways | purpleslobinrecovery

Leave a Reply

