Doing Dishes Daily

Huh, doing dishes daily is a real thing!   Who knew???   (Well for starters, Granny, Mama, Kristen C., Nicole….. and every other cleanie in the world.)   And I must confess, deep in my slobbiest of hearts, I knew it too. 

broken heart

 

(Does this look like the slobbiest of hearts?????)

 

 I just spent the last 4 decades pretending I didn’t.   My Mama raised me right, I just chose to let my slob side over rule my training.    Now, I’m shaking my head at myself.   How many, many, MANY hours of forced torture did I put myself and my family through, to panic clean before a party, company, etc????   So many that it was probably literally YEARS of our lives.

purple surprised face

courtesy of pixaby.   Thanks Judy for letting me steal him!

 

Sometimes, it wasn’t a conscious choice, due to my thyroid and depression issues.    But, to be truthful, other times, it WAS a deliberate choice, cuz I just didn’t feel like it.    But, guess what?   Grown ups have to do what’s needed, whether they want to or not.   (Which I also really knew deep down, but pretended I didn’t.   It’s so exhausting to keep denying reality!!)    Now, I’m finally on the path to applying that (consistently) to my home.

So, back to doing the dishes daily.   Everyone *cough*Mama*cough, told me it’s so much easier if ya just go ahead and DO them!!!   And, when I did, I discovered, BY Golly, they’re right!!!    Doncha just hate when that happens????   ME too.

So, today, after I ate breakfast, I put my dishes in the sink.  

dirty dishes in sink

Not today’s dishes. I’m totally recycling this pic from January.    Shhhhhhhh!

 

 

And STARTED to walk away. Then, I paused and thought “DIN DIN, (do it now) you’ll be glad later.”   So, I did.   Later today, when I go to eat lunch, I’m gonna see my empty sink, and smile.   Yes, indeed, I’ll be glad I did the dishes this day.

26 thoughts on “Doing Dishes Daily

  1. Pingback: Valuable Valentine | purpleslobinrecovery

  2. Pingback: Twin Twist | purpleslobinrecovery

  3. Pingback: Shower Show | purpleslobinrecovery

  4. Pingback: Timed Tidy | purpleslobinrecovery

  5. Pingback: More Mammal Memes | purpleslobinrecovery

  6. Pingback: Hoarded & Holding | purpleslobinrecovery

  7. Pingback: Strainer Struggle | purpleslobinrecovery

  8. Pingback: Hospitality House | purpleslobinrecovery

  9. Pingback: Purging Purple | purpleslobinrecovery

Leave a Reply

