Hospitality House

The Saturday after Hurricane Matthew, I decided to have some peeps for dinner.     

Since when are you a cannibal??

WHAT??    ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT??

Re-read that sentence.

Oh, yeah, okay, I see the problem there.     Saturday, I decided to have some peeps OVER for dinner!

Much better!

And even though I had had the girls overnight, it still only took me about 10 min. to make the living room and dining room/kitchen presentable!!       That was a huge accomplishment!!

slob, humor, covered clutter  Yup, hid some baby toys under that there blankie!!

And yes, I threw put some of the bulky stuff in the girls’ room, but I wasn’t madly running thru the house, just throwing stuff any ole where!

slob, humor, clutterslob, humor, clutter?    After all, where does the girls’ stuff belong, if not in their room??

{throat clearing}      What about this??

slob, humor, clutter     (Please note: Dresser top is still neat, except for the 1 blankie!)

Yes, I did put all the sewing/quilting stuff from the dining table, in the crib.      And your point?

Well, you shoved stuff.

True, but that was only a small bit of stuff, and the sewing room IS in my room, so MY point still holds!     “I wasn’t madly running thru the house, just throwing stuff any ole where!”

Mama was spending the afternoon, with me and the girls, and I decided I needed to feed her, for once.     Usually I say, “Sorry, Mama, I don’t have anything.”      (For some reason she won’t eat PP’s canned mac and cheese. )

 slob, humor, winky 

So, I thawed some chix thighs, put them in (Rose’s) crock pot.        Then, I cut up onions, put them in crock, and there was no room for the potatoes!       Mama and Rose were NOT happy about that development!       I blithely said, “We’ll just have to mash them then! “Knowing good and well I didn’t intend to mash them!}

But, I did peel the potatoes.      By this time, I was exhausted, and needed some refreshment. So, I peeled, and sliced some apples for PP, and ate some.      Ah!     The restorative powers of sustenance!

Then I washed off table, and set it.      Washed enough forks.

SF kindly cooked the broccoli, after Mama mashed the taters.      Rose had gone home, and baked put a blackberry cobbler in the oven.     Oh so yummm!!       (Even the store bought stuff tastes good with vanilla ice cream on it!)     And, for all those watching my diet for me, no, it wasn’t GF.      slob, humor, sad               After dinner, I cleared the dishes, and stopped Mama from washing them all.     She managed to get most of the pots done, before I caught her!

slob, humor, dinner dishesslob, humor, dinner dishesslob, humor, pot dreggs

   {Could you have guessed our menu from the crock dreggs??}

I didn’t finish them till next day.     Babysitting, cooking, and cleaning was enough for 1 day!!

The last time I had  peeps over for a meal was Dec. 24, 2015, for the Hawkins family Christmas Eve party.      And to prepare for that took a month, and 3 sessions with an organizer, and 1 pd cleaning!!

I’ve come a long way, baby!!

27 thoughts on “Hospitality House

  1. It was entertaining reading about you entertaining guests and having them for dinner (so to speak😀). I laughed when you wrote ‘for all those watching my diet for me’. What a rebel eating a blackberry cobbler and ice-cream 😱! Sounds like a lovely family get-together.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Melinda,
    I laughed a lot reading this post and the ” sorry mama” bit. My mama would throw a fit if I said that- I would at least have to order her a biriyani from some restaurant if there was no food at home. How many kilos have you lost ( I am watching your weight for you, you see) and does PP live with you all the time ?
    Susie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh Susie, I’m tickled to hear you laughed!! I love that! What is a “biriyani”? Sadly, I have regained half of the 55 pounds I had lost. 😦 Not happpy with myself on that! No, PP and PPJr live with their mom, but it just seems like they’re here all the time! 😉 And I love it!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Dear D. | purpleslobinrecovery

  4. Pingback: Seven Seconds Scullery Sunder | purpleslobinrecovery

  5. Pingback: Melinda’s Mothers Morning | purpleslobinrecovery

Leave a Reply

