RIP Recliner

I sat in the recliner, and gave a little, sideways, jerking twitch, to move it over away from the wall.      Which I have done many, many times before.     And to my surprise, the back came half way off!!

slob, humor, recliner back detached

Oopsie! That’s a problem!

Thankfully, XH was here, and put it back on, but warned me to be careful.       Of course, I promised I would.

Friday, I was holding PPJr, and rocking her to sleep.     When her lights went out, I leaned to the side, and pulled up the lever, to recline.    

To my horror, and her terror, we both fell backwards, almost to the floor!

(I was too traumatized to take a pic, even later.      I just averted my eyes, from that whole corner, outta respect for the chair’s pain, and pride.)

I jumped up, as fast as I can, holding a 28 lb screaming baby, and came into my room.   I’m so grateful someone gave me this rocker, as a housewarming gift!!

slob, humor, wicker rocker

1 solid piece!! No detachable parts!

Finally soothed the baby back to sleep, and put her down in bed.       I climbed in beside her, and nodded off to sleep myself.       We both slept for 2 hours.     I guess it took that long to recover from the trauma!!

And the recliner stayed there, backless.      Gaping wide open, in pain, and humiliated.  

Till Sunday night, when PopPop, (SF) came over.      I begged him to see if he could help it in any way.

Happily, he was able to put the back on again.    

slob, humor, repaired recliner

All better!!

  But he warned me that I had bent the supports…..      So, I’m thinking it’s only a matter of time…..

 

8 thoughts on “RIP Recliner

Leave a Reply

