Bars Begging

No, not that kind of bars!   I’m an alcoholic in recovery, remember??

A guy (I don’t want to embarrass him, so I won’t name him, but his initials are XH.) was over here helping me, and I was craving ice cream, so I asked him to go get me some ice cream bars.

This is what he brought me:

slob, humor, ice cream sandwiches

These are ice cream sandwiches.

Public Service Announcement:  These are sandwiches, not bars, which it clearly states on the box.

{Disclaimer: I really did take my own pix, but I have a brand new phone, and for some reason, I can’t get them to download, and my tech guy is asleep because it’s very, very late for him, very, very early for me.  So, anyway, I had to cheat and get Gmail images.  Sorry.}

So, I described to him what I really wanted, (and asked for by name!!) and said, what do you call those??   He said, “I don’t know, this is what I thought you wanted, they’re in a bar.”

sigh

“Thanks, hon.  I appreciate you getting me ice cream.” says I.

Then, later that afternoon, a different guy came over to help me, so I asked him to go get me some ice cream bars.   AND  I described it again.

“Ya know, vanilla ice cream covered in chocolate?” I begged.

And this is what HE brought me:

slob, humor, ice cream sandwiches

These are ice cream sandwiches.

Yeah, EXACT same thing.

I said, “These are sandwiches, not bars.  I asked for bars.”

He said “Yeah, well, these are bar shaped.   It’s what ya got.  Now enjoy.”

sigh

So “Thanks, hon.  I appreciate you getting me ice cream.” says I.   (We don’t use pet names like that.)

And I definitely am NOT gonna identify him!!   I need my tech guy!!   (Oopsie!!)

slob, humor, ice cream

This is what I BEGGED for!!

slob, humor, ice cream

This is what I BEGGED for!!

(Notice it say “BARS” clearly on the box????)

sigh

 

Anybody got a female to male translation dictionary I can have???

15 thoughts on “Bars Begging

  1. When asking men to do anything mundane (not that I think asking for an ice-cream BAR is mundane) I always find that if you can relate your request to a seductive image in some way, men’s ears do work better. For example, accentuate the word BAR by saying it in a breathless Marilyn Monroe style while running your fingers through your hair (or his – but that’s a bit risky if he is say, a neighbor or something). You do have to be VERY careful – it’s a delicate art getting the thing you want and then switching off the seduction antenna so you can enjoy your ice-cream in peace. You have to do it in reverse once you have the item in your hand – like this: “Oooh thanks, once I have eaten my BAR I am going to cut my toe nails”.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi BBFFM,
    Number one that is a funny story about the bar
    number two I did not know you are a recovering alcoholic. I guess the best blogging friend is always the last to know. That takes a lot of willpower and strength. I am proud of you.
    BBFfJ

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Cream Craving | purpleslobinrecovery

  4. Pingback: Java Joe Jokes | purpleslobinrecovery

  5. Pingback: Steering Steady | purpleslobinrecovery

  6. Pingback: Declutterathon Downunder | purpleslobinrecovery

  7. Pingback: Frabulous Frames | purpleslobinrecovery

  8. Pingback: Purging Purple | purpleslobinrecovery

  9. Pingback: Merry March Monday Memes | purpleslobinrecovery

  10. Pingback: Busted Back | purpleslobinrecovery

Leave a comment