Reminiscing Rememberances

When a friend , Kristen, started a homemaking blog, TheRoadtoDomestication, I was excited for her!  She just got married, so yay! We can learn things together.  But she’s a natural born “cleanie” and organizer, and I AM NOT.  It frustrated me that things that were simple for her made no sense to me, and I tried, but just COULDN’T do them.  So, while I was happy for her, I was still depressed for me.

depressed woman

L0026686 A woman diagnosed as suffering from melancholia. Colour lith Credit: Wellcome Library, London. Wellcome Images images@wellcome.ac.uk http://wellcomeimages.org A woman diagnosed as suffering from melancholia. Colour lithograph, 1892, after J. Williamson, 1890. 1890-1892 By: J. Williamsonafter: Byrom BramwellPublished: [1892] Copyrighted work available under Creative Commons Attribution only licence CC BY 4.0 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

 

Then I heard about FLYLady.  She has flybabies, well then maybe I can do that!  But, her first thing was to get up, shower and dress all the way down to shoes, and makeup.  I didn’t have any makeup, and only wore shoes outside!  So, before we even started, I was already a loser!  Than made me super upset and frustrated.

Then I finally had the bright idea to Google slob, (best thing I ever did for my home!!) and found NONY from the SlobComesClean, and the angels sang! She gets me!!  She’s just like me!!  I had found my tribe!!

I started reading her, then a month later, decided to start my own blog, (this very one!) to document my own journey out of slobbery.

Lots of things have happened between now and then.  DD1 and PP have moved out, DD1 and SIL have gotten married, now with PPJr on the way!!

I have moved twice!!!

my first place all on my own

My Very First Place, All on my Own!

 

DH and I separated, and now on the way to being divorced.

I have learned how to de-clutter!!  I have learned to do dishes!!! (before they mildew even!!)

I’ve broken my back, (can’t find the right post for some reason, oh well, back to my sentence) gotten back on track with health, gone GF, gone back on that, and gone back to GF!!

Whew! That’s a lot of switchbacks!

I’ve organized!  (With help, of course.)

I’ve lost a brother-in-law.  This one is the worst.  Death is horrible, the effects last as long as you live.  The only consolation we have , is that we will see him again in heaven.  So, cherish all your loved ones.  Kiss and hug, and say “I love you” everyday.  You never know when it will be your last chance.

So, here we are, today, January 25, 2016.   A year and a half later, I’m still slogging, cleaning, de-cluttering, and learning.   And I love my life!   Thanks everyone for coming along with me!!  I appreciate y’all so much for taking your time out of your busy life, to read what I have to say, and comment.  Y’all are the best!!  Hugs and kisses to all!

I love my readers

I love you, my readers!!

{I can NOT believe I didn’t say PURPLE one time in this WHOLE post!  I had to remedy that real quick like!}

22 thoughts on “Reminiscing Rememberances

  1. Pingback: Nony Need | purpleslobinrecovery

  2. Melinda. Do you realize that at some point you may have to change the name of your blog? You seem to be way past recovery! I have had so much fun reading your posts in 2015. (I started with Strawberry Girl and held my breath waiting for the happy ending. Remember?) And I look forward to spending time with you in 2016. Take care and I love you, too. Clare

    Liked by 1 person

    • Clare, that comment, COMPLIMENT!! seriously made my eyes well up. That was the bestest thing you could ever have said to me. I remember! You kept trying to hurry me up, and threatened my life if there wasn’t a happy ending for her! lol
      I am so super happy that we met. You’ll always be my Ethel.
      Love, Lucy

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Bathroom Counter Redoux | purpleslobinrecovery

  4. Pingback: Red Rudolph | purpleslobinrecovery

  5. Pingback: Beall’s Big Bang | purpleslobinrecovery

  6. Pingback: Doing Dishes Daily | purpleslobinrecovery

  7. Melinda,
    big hug to you and keep going purple the fun way= you make my day every time I read you. You do talk funny but its funny that is full of wisdom and good laughs at our own frivolities.
    God Bless !
    Susie

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Twin Twist | purpleslobinrecovery

  9. Pingback: More Mammal Memes | purpleslobinrecovery

  10. Pingback: Man, Much? | purpleslobinrecovery

  11. Pingback: Blueberry Bliss | purpleslobinrecovery

  12. Pingback: Hacked Hair History | purpleslobinrecovery

  13. Pingback: Room Rotation | purpleslobinrecovery

  14. Pingback: Seven Seconds Scullery Sunder | purpleslobinrecovery

Leave a comment